British Isles

Comfortably laying in the north-western part of Europe, the British Isles are a group of Isles consisting of:

  • Great Britain
  • Ireland
  • the Isle of Man
  • the Inner and Outer Hebrides
  • the Northern Isles
  • and over six thousand smaller islands

It is a place of magic and legends, of the descendants of the Celts and Scots and the creators of fairy tales and myths. A land of mystical creatures but also farm animals, where chicken outnumber the human population in England and there are more sheep in Wales and Ireland than people.

It’s a place where people drink more than 165 million cups of tea per day, where one of the national dishes, Haggis, consists of minced heart, liver, and lungs cooked in a sheep intestine while the other, Chicken Tikka Masala, is actually an Indian delicacy.

The British Isles include:

  • Ireland with its 20 thousand castles and ruins.
  • Scotland with its 790 islands and a unicorn as national animal.
  • Wales with the most castles per square mile.
  • Northern Ireland where many scenes from Game of Thrones where filmed.
  • And England, where you can consume alcohol in private settings from the age of 5 years old, but where it’s illegal to get drunk in pubs.

Crazy, isn’t it? Follow us to discover even more fun facts and culinary oddities about the British Isles.